There's something magical in this house of the Frères Ibarboure - Table & Hostellerie. Imagine it! First of all, we need to get lost in the Basque countryside starting from Bidart. Take winding, narrow roads, venture down the Ttalienea path before discovering this delicious house, nestling in the greenery...a Relais du Silence, of course. This route gives us an appetite and also intrigues us. And then we go into the Ibarboure family's property. It is another world where all species of tree seem to be at home. We pass banana trees, a willow, a few palm trees, some bamboo avenues…

We go on, we push a door. Smiles. From Soline, Anne-Marie, Philippe the founding father of this house with his brother Martin. If by any chance you pass a giant, don't be surprised. It's also an Ibarboure, Xabi, the eldest of the family and Soline's husband, in charge of the kitchen. He has the build of a rugby player, or a Basque pelota player. The house of the Ibarboure Brothers is a marvellous world where giants are gifted with creativity and extreme delicacy. When you sit down, in the large room overlooking the park, or at a table on a terrace attractively arranged in half-landings or in the original room with Basque accents, you will have a clear demonstration of this on your plate. 

Vegetables, salmon, pork raised to another level

In the kitchen, armed with tweezers, Xabi picks herbs and flowers from his precious little boxes before sprinkling them on his plates. Here a borage flower, there the heart of a green zebra tomato, a truffle shaving, an agastache…accompanied by a rocket moussaka (yes, you're not dreaming!), celtuce lettuce, a dozen mini-vegetables, gelled tomato water, etc. and you have a great dish: tasty, colourful, delicate, natural - and magical! These herbs and flowers picked just behind the kitchen are not exclusively for one dish but are the signature of Xabi Ibarboure's cooking.  

Txamengo, Txangurro... Xabi is inhabited by the Basque country

You can describe it in any way you like but this cooking is ultra-seasonal and localised. Here, expression becomes all-important. As a result, this philosophy inculcated by his father Philippe, who handed the kitchens over to him five years ago now, enables him to offer the best of the Basque country. And the producers, farmers and other fishermen have definitely understood that with Xabi, the produce is taken to another level. Look, here comes Christophe, an independent fisherman. Today, he is bringing salmon from the Adour. A pearl weighing more than 6 kg, only fished in May-June. "It bears no relation to farmed salmon. The taste is different, the texture also," says a delighted Xabi who entrusts the cooking of the salmon to Pierre, his second-in-command. It is grilled before being poached in oil.

The trilogy of Kintoa pig from Pierre Oteiza in les Aldudes? "Ears in mille-feuille, belly glazed at low temperature, and tenderloin roasted in chorizo oil." As an appetiser, Xabi offers txamengo, "a part of the pig that is not usually used. It's stringy, but well cooked, with piquillo peppers and parsley, in a little spring roll, it's delicious!" The fattened chickens come from Meracq where "Pierre Duplantier taps on the henhouse door before entering!" says a smiling Xabi who is always on the lookout for exceptional produce. The same is true for fishing, "local like the Guetaria octopus, the bonito from Saint-Jean de Luz, local anchovies, sea bass from Bayonne, etc." We're telling you: local, seasonal cooking!

Ibarboure Brothers II

As he is intimately connected to his local area, Xabi enjoys revisiting Basque cuisine like the Ttoro fish soup or Txangurro, a crab-based dish, which he wants to bring back as the taste of the day in coming seasons. Philippe, who we come across in the bakery or in the gardens, often exchanges ideas with Xabi and opens up his book of traditional recipes for him. "My father used to work a lot with roasting and he has passed this expertise on to me. I don't forget the basics, but I also look to work with more contemporary cooking styles such as sous-vide, slow cooking, etc." explains the young Basque, who used to work with Jean-Michel Lorain, the Pourcel brothers and Yannick Alleno, and was involved in getting the third star for the Meurice. 

The Ibarboure Brothers' business has turned the corner. It is making its mark in its age without losing anything of its philosophy. Sincere Basque country work as a family. Moreover, the younger brother, Patrice, has just joined the team as a pastry chef. The second generation Ibarboure Brothers are at last together.

Discover our charming hotel Les Frères Ibarboure

What if you were...Xabi Ibarboure

What if you were a dish?
The variety of Kintoa pork, because the Basque land is combined with technology and modern creativity
What if you were a supplier? 
A market gardener for the pleasure of picking from our garden
What if you were a gourmet memory of your childhood?
Aitatxi's (grandfather's) Basque cake
What if you were a cuisine of the future?
The cuisine of produce
What if you were a cooking tip? 
Enjoy getting up early!
What if you were a product?
A potato, because you can do so many things with it...
What if you were a region, a country or a city?
The Basque country obviously!
What if you were another chef?
Michel Bras
What if you were a character (real or fictitious)? 
Tintin, to travel and look for new products
What if you were an art?
Music, because as with cooking there is a score but the interpreter makes his mark
What if you were a customer, what would you expect from your restaurant?
That it makes me travel during the period of a meal
This website uses cookies, allowing us to present advertising in line with your interests and ensuring audience counts, sharing and redirection to social media. (Know more)
OK

You'll love being loyal !

Throughout Europe,
the Accent Card rewards your loyalty in all 550 hotels under our 4 brands.

We are searching for available rates
Please wait a few seconds.

Il y a comme de la magie dans cette maison des Frères Ibarboure - Table & Hostellerie. Imaginez donc ! Il faut tout d'abord se perdre dans la campagne basque au départ de Bidart. Emprunter des routes sinueuses, rétrécies, se risquer sur le chemin Ttalienea avant de découvrir cette maison délicieuse, nichée dans la verdure... Relais du Silence, naturellement. Ce cheminement nous met en appétit et nous intrigue également. Et puis l'on entre dans la propriété de la famille Ibarboure. Un autre monde où toutes les essences d'arbres semblent à leur aise. On y croise des bananiers, un saule, quelques palmiers, des allées de bambous…

On avance, on pousse une porte. Des sourires. Celui de Soline, de Anne-Marie, de Philippe le père fondateur de cette maison avec son frère Martin... Si par hasard vous croisez un géant, ne soyez pas surpris. C'est aussi un Ibarboure, Xabi, l'ainé de la famille le mari de Soline, aux commandes de la cuisine. Carrure de rugbyman, joueur de pelote basque. La maison des Frères Ibarboure, un monde merveilleux où les géants sont doués d'une créativité et d'une délicatesse extrême. Au moment de vous mettre à table, dans la grande salle ouverte sur le parc, attablé sur la terrasse joliment agencée en demi-paliers ou dans la salle d’origine aux accents basques, vous en aurez l'évidente démonstration dans l'assiette.

Légumes, saumon, cochon sublimés

En cuisine, armé d'une pincette, Xabi cueille les herbes et les fleurs dans ses petites boites précieuses avant d’en parsemer ses assiettes. Ici une fleur de bourrache, là le cœur d'une tomate green zebra, une lamelle de truffe, une agastache… Agrémenté d'une  moussaka de roquette (eh oui, vous ne rêvez pas !), de laitue celtuce, d'une dizaine de mini-légumes, d'une eau de tomate gélifiée etc. et vous avez un grand plat, goûté, coloré, délicat, naturel… magique ! Ces herbes et fleurs cueillies juste derrière la cuisine, ne sont pas l'apanage d’un seul plat mais bel et bien la signature de la cuisine de Xabi Ibarboure

Txamengo, Txangurro... Xabi est habité par le Pays Basque

On peut lui donner tous les qualificatifs que l'on veut, cette cuisine est ultra saisonnière et localisée. Ici, l'expression prend toute sa dimension. Du coup, cette philosophie inculquée par son père Philippe, qui lui a laissé les cuisine voici 5 ans, lui permet de proposer le meilleur du Pays basque. Et les producteurs, éleveurs et autres pêcheurs ont bien compris qu'avec Xabi, le produit est sublimé. Tiens, voilà justement Christophe, pêcheur indépendant. Aujourd'hui, il ramène du saumon de l'Adour. Une perle de plus de 6 kg, uniquement pêché en mai-juin. "Rien à voir avec un saumon d'élevage. Le goût est différent, la texture également", se félicite Xabi qui confie la cuisson du saumon à Pierre, son second. Grillé avant d’être poché dans l’huile.

La trilogie du cochon kintoa des Aldudes de Pierre Oteiza ? « Les oreilles en mille-feuille, la poitrine laquée à basse température, le filet mignon rôti à l'huile de chorizo.» En amuse-bouche, Xabi propose le txamengo, "une partie du cochon qui habituellement n'est pas utilisée. C'est filandreux, mais bien cuit, avec des piquillos, du persil, dans une petite nem, c'est délicieux !" Les poulardes viennent de Meracq où "Pierre Duplantier toque à la porte du poulailler avant d'entrer !" sourit Xabi toujours à la recherche des produits d'exception. C'est le cas aussi pour la pêche, "locale comme le poulpe de Guétaria, la bonite de Saint-Jean de Luz, les anchois du coin, le bar de Bayonne…" Cuisine locale et saisonnière on vous dit !

Frères Ibarboure II

Intimement lié à son terroir, Xabi se plait à revisiter la cuisine basque comme la soupe de poisson Ttoro ou encore ce Txangurro, plat à base de tourteau, qu'il souhaite remettre au goût du jour dans les saisons à venir. Philippe, que l'on croise en boulangerie ou dans les jardins, échange souvent avec Xabi et lui ouvre son livre de recettes traditionnelles. "Mon père travaillait beaucoup en rôtissage, il m'a transmis ce savoir-faire. Je n'oublie pas les bases, mais je cherche également à travailler avec des cuissons plus contemporaines comme le sous-vide, les cuissons longues etc." explique le jeune basque, ancien de chez Jean-Michel Lorain, des frères Pourcel et de Yannick Alleno, participant à la troisième étoile du Meurice.

La Maison des Frères Ibarboure a passé un cap. Elle s’inscrit dans son époque sans rien perdre de sa philosophie. Le travail sincère du Pays Basque en famille. D’ailleurs, le jeune frère, Patrice, vient d’intégrer l’équipe au poste de chef pâtissier. Les Frères Ibarboure, deuxième génération sont enfin réunis.

Xabi Ibarboure,et si vous étiez...

Et si vous étiez un plat ?
La déclinaison de cochon de Kintoa, parce qu'on conjugue le terroir basque avec la technique et la créativité moderne.
Et si vous étiez un fournisseur ?
Le maraîcher pour le plaisir de la cueillette dans notre jardin.
Et si vous étiez un souvenir gourmand de votre enfance ?
Le gâteau basque d'Aitatxi (le grand père)
Et si vous étiez une cuisine de demain ?
La cuisine des produits.
Et si vous étiez une astuce en cuisine ?
Aimer se lever tôt !
Et si vous étiez un produit ?
La pomme de terre, car on peut faire tellement de choses avec...
Et si vous étiez une région, un pays, une ville ?
Le Pays basque évidemment !
Et si vous étiez un autre chef ?
Michel Bras.
Et si vous étiez un personnage (réel ou fictif) ?
Tintin, pour voyager et chercher de nouveaux produits.
Et si vous étiez un art ?
La musique, parce que comme en cuisine il y a une partition mais l'interprète imprime sa marque.
Et si vous étiez un client, qu’attendriez-vous de votre restaurant ?
Qu'il me fasse voyager le temps d'un repas
Ce site web utilise des cookies permettant de vous offrir des publicités adaptées à vos centres d'intérêt, assurant des mesures d'audience, ainsi que le partage ou la redirection vers les réseaux sociaux. (En savoir plus)
OK

Vous allez adorer être fidèle !

Partout en Europe,
la Carte Accent récompense votre fidélité dans les 550 hôtels de nos 4 marques.

Nous recherchons les prix disponibles.
Merci de patienter quelques secondes.