Provins. A 12th-century commercial city, the medieval home of the famous Champagne Fairs, and a UNESCO world heritage site. Provins, its 5 kilometres of walls, imposing Tour César, winding lanes, Place Chatel and its Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts, owned by Xavier and Cécile Roy. A rustic and delightfully shady terrace. 40 rooms, three restaurants, a shop, a spa...while waiting for the quiet, vaulted bar. Sitting at a table, away from the crowd, you can feel the full force of the serenity that is a feature of Relais du Silence. 

The scene is set; now all that remains is to introduce the central character of our gourmet history. Here he is, coming out of his kitchen...Lionel Seret, the Vieux Remparts chef, a local man, gallant knight of good taste, loyal to his town and his business. "I came here for the first time in 1994, as an apprentice, and I've known three chefs and three different kitchens here. I like to think that I've travelled while staying in the same place," says the young chef, 34, with a smile. Today he is the head of the Les Vieux Remparts restaurant, but also of Le Petit Ecu and the brand new L’Esquisse, which opened in April 2013. "Again, three different kitchens. More snack bar and bistro at Le Petit Ecu, traditional at Les Vieux Remparts and gastronomic at L’Esquisse."

For all that, there is nothing to turn the head of this calm, level-headed chef, similar to l’Esquisse, a quietly refined restaurant delicately coiled within the walls of the Hostellerie. It is here, moreover, that Lionel Seret expresses his creativity to the full. A sincere form of cooking, not showy but the fruit of an environment and a personality. Authentic cooking sought by regulars at Relais du Silence hotels. 

Close to his producers

"I like it that we find the flavours on the plate," like this recipe for scallops with artichokes barigoule, escabeche of pan-fried mussels and chorizo stock. "Yes, it's a nod to my mother and grandmother, who are both from Valencia. You will also find a lovely pata negra in my vegetable tartlet." Elsewhere in the meal, local produce is highlighted. Like these snails farmed by Pascal and Francine Janic, who settled at Pamfou in the Marne area in 2011.

"Gros Gris snails farmed in natural conditions, growing and feeding on plant cover made up of radish, clover, rape, etc. Pascal and Francine have really adapted to their animals, which have the taste of this land. Some lamb's lettuce and great finesse in the mouth," says Lionel who makes the effort to meet his producers on the ground before taking their produce to a new level on the plate. After preparing them in tempura, with foie gras grease or even, in the winter, with forgotten vegetables, Lionel recently served them on a pea purée, garlic, candied rose and cromesquis with Provins Brie. Another local product! The same applies to the poultry of Fabien Bourdicaud, a farmer at Esternay in the Marne area.

And the rest? "From Rungis [the large wholesale food market] obviously every week. I go there personally each time the menu changes, to have a look at new products and talk to the producers." On the pass, in the kitchen, herbs also have an important place and the chef is quick to pick some to accompany his dishes.

Discover our charming hotel Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts

What if you were...Lionel Seret

What if you were a dish?
Cuban rice, arroz a la cubana
What if you were a producer? 
A market gardener
What if you were a gourmet memory of your childhood? 
A croque monsieur with Nutella
What if you were a cuisine of the future? 
I would be the cuisine of yesterday
What if you were a cooking tip? 
Dry aromatic herbs from the garden
What if you were a product?
I'd be a very good Spanish dry-cured ham, of the pata negra type
What if you were a region, a country or a city?
Why not Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Spain and Valencia!
What if you were another chef?
Alain Dutournier
What if you were a character (real or fictitious)? 
I'd be a cartoon superhero 
What if you were an art? 
Culinary art
What if you were a customer, what would you expect from your restaurant?
Quality of course, but with complete simplicity
This website uses cookies, allowing us to present advertising in line with your interests and ensuring audience counts, sharing and redirection to social media. (Know more)
OK

You'll love being loyal !

Throughout Europe,
the Accent Card rewards your loyalty in all 550 hotels under our 4 brands.

We are searching for available rates
Please wait a few seconds.

Provins. Cité commerciale du 12ème siècle, haut lieu médiéval des célèbres Foires de Champagne, classée au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco. Provins, ses 5 kilomètres de remparts, son imposante tour Caesar, ses ruelles tortueuses, sa place Chatel et son Hostellerie Aux Vieux Remparts, propriété de Xavier et Cécile Roy. Une terrasse bucolique et ombragée à souhait. 40 chambres, trois restaurants, une boutique, un spa... en attendant le bar feutré et voûté. Attablé, à l’écart de la foule, on ressent pleinement cette sérénité propre aux Relais du Silence.

Le décor est planté, il ne reste plus qu’à introduire le personnage central de notre histoire gourmande. Le voici justement qui sort de sa cuisine... Lionel Seret, chef des Vieux Remparts, un homme du cru, preux chevalier du bon goût, fidèle à sa cité et à sa maison. «Je suis rentré ici pour la première fois en 1994, en apprentissage et j’y ai connu 3 chefs et 3 cuisines différentes. J’aime à penser que j’ai voyagé tout en restant sur place,» sourit le jeune chef de 34 ans. Il est aujourd’hui à la tête du restaurant Les Vieux Remparts, mais également du Petit Ecu et du tout nouveau L’Esquisse, inauguré en avril 2013. «Là encore, trois cuisines différentes. Plutôt snack et bistrot au Petit Ecu, traditionnelle aux Vieux Remparts et gastronomique à L’Esquisse.»

Pour autant, pas de quoi faire tourner la tête de ce chef calme et posé, à l’image de l’Esquisse, restaurant feutré délicatement lovée entre les murs de l’Hostellerie. C’est ici d’ailleurs, que Lionel Seret exprime pleinement sa créativité. Une cuisine sincère, sans esbroufe, fruit d’un environnement et d’une personnalité. Une authenticité en cuisine recherchée par les habitués des Relais du Silence.

Proche de ses producteurs

«J’aime que l’on retrouve les saveurs dans l’assiette» comme cette recette de Saint-Jacques aux artichauts barigoule, poêlée de moules à l’escabèche et bouillon chorizo. «Oui, c’est un petit clin d’oeil à ma mère et grand mère, Valenciennes toutes les deux. On retrouve également une belle pata negra dans ma tartelette de légumes.» Ailleurs dans le repas, ce sont les produits locaux qui sont mis en exergue. A l’instar de ces escargots élevés par Pascal et Francine Janic, installés à Pamfou dans la Marne depuis 2011.

«Des escargots Gros Gris élevés dans les conditions naturelles, évoluant et se nourrissant d’un couvert végétal composé de radis végétal, de trèfle, de navettes... Pascal et Francine se sont vraiment adaptés à leurs animaux qui ont le goût de ce terroir. De la mâche et une belle finesse en bouche,» dixit Lionel qui fait l’effort de rencontrer ses producteurs sur le terrain avant de sublimer leurs produits dans l’assiette. Après les avoir travaillés en tempura, à la graisse de foie gras ou encore, l’hiver, avec des légumes oubliés, Lionel les déclinait récemment sur une purée de petits pois, ail, rose confit et cromesquis au Brie de Provins. Là encore un produit local ! Il en va de même avec les volailles de Fabien Bourdicaud, éleveur à Esternay dans la Marne.

Pour le reste ? «C’est Rungis évidemment toutes les semaines. J’y passe personnellement à chaque changement de carte, pour jeter un oeil sur les nouveaux produits et échanger avec les producteurs.» Sur le passe, en cuisine, les herbes ont aussi une place de choix et le chef n’hésite pas à en cueillir pour agrémenter ses plats.

Si vous étiez ...Lionel Seret

Et si vous étiez un plat ?
Le riz à la cubaine, arroz a la cubana
Et si vous étiez un producteur ?
Un maraicher
Et si vous étiez un souvenir gourmand de votre enfance ?
Un croque monsieur au Nutella
Et si vous étiez une cuisine de demain ?
Je serais la cuisine d’hier
Et si vous étiez une astuce en cuisine ?
Faire sécher les herbes aromatiques du jardin
Et si vous étiez un produit ?
Je serais un très bon jambon sec espagnol du type pata negra
Et si vous étiez une région, un pays, une ville ?
Et pourquoi pas la Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, l’Espagne et Valencia !
Et si vous étiez un autre chef ?
Alain Dutournier
Et si vous étiez un personnage (réel ou fictif) ?
Je serais un super héro de bande dessinée
Et si vous étiez un art ?
L’art culinaire
Et si vous étiez un client, qu’attendriez-vous de votre restaurant ?
De la qualité bien évidemment, mais en toute simplicité
Ce site web utilise des cookies permettant de vous offrir des publicités adaptées à vos centres d'intérêt, assurant des mesures d'audience, ainsi que le partage ou la redirection vers les réseaux sociaux. (En savoir plus)
OK

Vous allez adorer être fidèle !

Partout en Europe,
la Carte Accent récompense votre fidélité dans les 550 hôtels de nos 4 marques.

Nous recherchons les prix disponibles.
Merci de patienter quelques secondes.