"Oh, it's pitiful to see that...digging up carrots of this size, it's really because it's for you!" Bent over his carrot bed, at Sainte-Radegonde below the village of Pont l’Abbé d’Arnoult, Pierre Faiyre is preparing the order for Johann Suire who has come to visit him. Seventy mini carrots, a few mini turnips, new onions, and peas. "Pierre is moaning as, around here, they only eat good sized carrots, not mini ones. He produces these only for me." The complicity between the chef and his producer is genuine.

And Johann does not hold back moreover from biting into a few vegetables, straight from the field, like these green peas that he tosses into his mouth like peanuts. "The important thing, as in all my cooking, is the season, nature. Vegetables are put on the table at the right time, not too early and not too late!" This is how this young chef who loves nature works...in harmony with his environment, peacefully to the rhythm of the seasons of his area.

Cooking as an inheritance

With his interest in encounters and produce, Johann Suire is a chip off the old block. Michel, his father of course. A colossus of cooking in the Charente region, former holder of a Michelin star at l’Eclair in Bourcefranc, having worked alongside Pic the grandfather, Point, Brazier…it was actually he who opened Les Jardins du Lac in 1993 after getting a star in his former restaurant. He is a lover of cooking who still drags his large white-haired body into battle in the kitchen...with a "look, have a taste of this, have a smell of that...it's good, eh?" at each step. With kindness to spare and great knowledge of the produce of the region.

Johann Suire walks in his father's footsteps, self-taught to a great extent "without training for years in this or that kitchen, but through work placements with Ducasse, LeNôtre, Cousseau, Cuizel," and reading. He took over the kitchens of Les Jardins du Lac in 2011. Now in charge, Johann has introduced new techniques - sous-vide cooking, low temperature cooking, etc. - but remaining very close to the produce. "I don't imagine the cooking of tomorrow as cubes and powders. No, we have to keep the taste and shape of the product. We need to think pleasure, without forgetting sauces."

The best of the Saintonge

This young 27-year-old overflows with pleasure and enthusiasm as he starts shopping this Tuesday morning in the covered market at Rochefort. Line-caught fish landed at la Cotinière, the port on the Ile d’Oléron, organic apples, local honey, meat from selected breeds, etc. The best produce from the Saintonge Romane and the Rochefort area are now brought together in the kitchen. The last touches are picked a stone's throw away, in the little herb garden placed a stone's throw away from the kitchens. "I pick my borage flowers there, my tarragon for the lobster spring roll, my mint - and even Szechuan pepper." The strawberry beds meanwhile are a bit higher up.

A philosophy

Before starting the service, the Suire family as a whole sits down for a snack. In particular there is Johann, his girlfriend La Retha originally from South Africa, Michel and his wife Sabine, all together in this restaurant bathed in light. All united in sharing, smiles, simplicity... A state of mind, a philosophy of welcome that we find again when they start serving the first customers. La Retha knows Johann's cooking perfectly and enjoys sharing it enthusiastically. Charmed by the serenity of the place and the lake which spreads out beyond their table, the guests let themselves be delightfully spoiled. "That's really what people are looking for here, a family spirit...yes, that's my idea of what makes a Relais du Silence," interjects Johann, busy in the kitchen.

And that is life in Les Jardins du Lac. Peaceful, following the rhythms of nature, the lapping of the lake, the walks by the duck family with its three ducklings, seasonal dishes...and the infectious laugh of the pretty La Retha.

Discover our charming hotel Les Jardins du Lac

What if you were...Johann Suire

What if you were a dish?
A strawberry tart, as everyone likes strawberries. For me it's a dish that's synonymous with sharing, family, friends.
What if you were one of your suppliers?
A sea fisherman, a troller even, catching sea bass, sea bream, etc.
What if you were a gourmet memory of your childhood?
Oh, I'd be my mother's chocolate cake, served still warm when I got back from school...
What if you were a cuisine of the future? 
I'd like a truthful cuisine, clean dishes, recognisable products, etc. No foams or powders.
What if you were a style of cuisine of today?
A cuisine to eat!
What if you were a cooking tip?
I'd start cooking crustaceans in boiling water, never in cold water.
What if you were a product?
I'd be a sea bass, for me the best fish.
What if you were a city, a region or a country?
The Landes, because they eat well there.
What if you were another chef?
Jean-Jacques Cousseau at Magescq.
What if you were a character?
Popeye, because he eats lots of vegetables (laughs)!
What if you were an art?
Sculpture, we try to get close to it when we put a plate together.
What if you were a customer, what would you expect from your restaurant?
To have a good time, to be delighted with the plate, the setting, the quality of the products.
This website uses cookies, allowing us to present advertising in line with your interests and ensuring audience counts, sharing and redirection to social media. (Know more)
OK

You'll love being loyal !

Throughout Europe,
the Accent Card rewards your loyalty in all 550 hotels under our 4 brands.

We are searching for available rates
Please wait a few seconds.

«Oh ça me fait pitié de voir ça... Sortir des carottes de cette taille, c’est vraiment parce que c’est pour toi !» Penché sur sa planche de carottes, à Sainte-Radegonde en contrebas du village de Pont l’Abbé d’Arnoult, Pierre Faiyre prépare la commande de Johann Suire venu lui rendre visite. 70 minis carottes, quelques minis navets, des oignons nouveaux, des pois… «Pierre râle car, dans le coin, on ne consomme que des carottes de belles tailles, pas des minis. Celles-ci il ne les produit que pour moi.» La complicité entre le chef et son producteur est bien réelle.

Et Johann ne se prive d’ailleurs pas de croquer quelques légumes, natures, à même le champs, comme ces pois bien verts qu’il fait sauter en bouche façon cacahuètes. «L’important, comme dans toute ma cuisine, reste la saison, la nature. Les légumes se retrouvent sur table le moment venu, ni trop tôt, ni trop tard !». Ainsi va ce jeune chef amoureux de la nature... En osmose avec son environnement, tranquillement au rythme des saisons de son pays.

La cuisine en héritage

Curieux de rencontres et de produits, Johann Suire a de qui tenir. Michel, son père évidemment. Un colosse de la cuisine charentaise, ancien étoilé du temps de L’Eclair de Bourcefranc, ayant côtoyé le grand-père Pic, Point, Brazier… C’est d’ailleurs lui qui ouvre Les Jardins du Lac en 1993 après avoir été étoilé dans son ancien restaurant. Un passionné de cuisine qui y traine encore sa grande carcasse, cheveux blancs en bataille… Avec à chaque pas un «tient, goûte moi ça, sent moi ça… C’est bon hein ?» De la gentillesse à revendre, une grosse connaissance des produits de la région. 

Johann Suire marche sur les pas de son père, plutôt en autodidacte, «sans me former pendant des années dans telle ou telle cuisine, mais à force de stages, chez Ducasse, LeNôtre, Cousseau, Cuizel,» et de lectures. Il a repris les cuisines des Jardins du Lac en 2011. Aujourd’hui aux commandes du piano, Johann a introduit des techniques nouvelles - cuisson sous-vide, basse température… - mais en restant au plus près du produit. «Je n’imagine pas la cuisine de demain en cubes et poudres. Non, il faut garder le goût et la forme du produit. Il faut penser plaisir, sans oublier les sauces.»

Le meilleur du Saintonge

Du plaisir et de l’enthousiasme, le jeune homme de 27 ans en déborde au moment d’entamer les courses ce mardi matin au marché couvert de Rochefort. Poissons de ligne débarqués à la Cotinière, le port de l’île d’Oléron, pommes bio, miel local, viandes de races sélectionnées... Les meilleurs produits de la Saintonge Romane et du pays rochefortais sont désormais réunis dans la cuisine. La dernière touche se cueille à deux pas, là dans ce petit jardin aromatique posé à deux pas des cuisines. «J’y cueille mes fleurs de bourrache, mon estragon pour le nem de homard, ma menthe… et même du poivre de Sichuan.» Les parterres de fraises sont quant à eux un peu plus haut.

Une philosophie

Avant d’entamer le service, la famille Suire s’attable au complet pour grignoter. Il y a là notamment Johann, La Retha son amie originaire d’Afrique du Sud, Michel et son épouse Sabine, tous réunis dans cette salle de restaurant baignée de lumière. Tous à l’unisson dans le partage, les sourires, la simplicité... Un état d’esprit, une philosophie de l’accueil que l’on retrouve d’ailleurs au moment de servir les premiers clients. La Retha connait parfaitement la cuisine de Johann et se fait un plaisir de la faire partager avec enthousiasme. Charmés par la sérénité des lieux et ce lac qui s’étend au delà de leur table, les hôtes se laissent délicieusement choyer. «C’est vraiment ce que les gens cherchent ici, un esprit familial... Oui, c’est l’idée que je me fais d’un Relais du Silence,» lance Johann appliquéen cuisine.

Ainsi va la vie dans ces Jardins du Lac. Sereinement, au rythme de la nature, des clapotis du lac, des balades de la famille canard et de ses 9 canetons, des assiettes saisonnières... et du rire communicatif de la jolie La Retha.

Johann Suire,et si vous étiez...

Et si vous étiez un plat ?
Une tarte aux fraises, car tout le monde aime les fraises. C’est un plat pour moi synonyme de partage, de famille, d’amis.
Et si vous étiez l’un de vos fournisseurs ?
Un pêcheur en mer, un ligneur même, levant les bars, les dorades...
Et si vous étiez un souvenir gourmand de votre enfance ?
Oh je serais le gâteau au chocolat de ma mère, servi encore tiède lorsque je revenais de l’école... Un cake au chocolat, rond, tiède, avec un verre de lait.
Et si vous étiez une cuisine de demain ?
J’aimerais une cuisine de vérité, des plats nets, des produits reconnaissables... Pas de mousses ni de poudres.
Et si vous étiez un style de cuisine aujourd’hui ?
Une cuisine à manger !
Et si vous étiez une astuce en cuisine ?
Je débuterais la cuisson des crustacés à l’eau bouillante, jamais à l’eau froide.
Et si vous étiez un produit ?
Je serais un bar, pour moi le poisson par excellence.
Et si vous étiez une région, un pays, une ville ?
Les landes, parce qu’on y mange bien.
Et si vous étiez un autre chef ?
Jean-Jacques Cousseau à Magescq.
Et si vous étiez un personnage ?
Popeye, parce qu’il mange beaucoup de légumes (rires) !
Et si vous étiez un art ?
La sculpture, on essaye de s’en approcher lorsque l’on dresse une assiette.
Et si vous étiez un client, qu’attendriez-vous de votre restaurant ?
De passer un bon moment, d’être ravi de l’assiette, du cadre, de la qualité des produits.
Ce site web utilise des cookies permettant de vous offrir des publicités adaptées à vos centres d'intérêt, assurant des mesures d'audience, ainsi que le partage ou la redirection vers les réseaux sociaux. (En savoir plus)
OK

Vous allez adorer être fidèle !

Partout en Europe,
la Carte Accent récompense votre fidélité dans les 550 hôtels de nos 4 marques.

Nous recherchons les prix disponibles.
Merci de patienter quelques secondes.