Sitting on his punt, the immense bamboo pole horizontal, like a tightrope walker over the Brière, Eric Guérin is taking the measure of his morning escapade. Making the most of this natural tranquillity, the chef of La Mare aux Oiseaux talks little. He observes the water level, watches the attitude of the ducks. Then, in a calm voice, "Look, a coypu, just there." You barely have time to turn your head and the rodent is already slipping away through the high grass. "The Brière resources me fully. I like travelling in Africa, Asia, Europe...but I also feel a visceral need to be in Brière…OK, let's move on." A few strokes of the bamboo pole later, Eric Guérin gets out onto a small piece of loose earth, disturbing a duck family who had found refuge there as he goes. "I come to look for pennyroyal here." On the ground, there are a few greyed coypu heads. In the distance, swans are frolicking.

To get back to the "port" of La Mare aux Oiseaux, his restaurant set in the heart of the Brière regional nature reserve not far from Saint-Nazaire, the chef uses the natural channels of the Brière. In this way he passes along the bottom of one of his plots of land on which he has placed some thatched suites and a spa. La Mare aux Oiseaux is still about ten strokes of bamboo pole away. We arrive therefore at the bottom of his lush garden, where the guests are still sleeping in their rooms on stilts. These three rooms represent the very spirit of the Relais du Silence. Before going to the restaurant, which has a few other rooms above it, the chef walks up his garden greeting its inhabitants as he goes. Two crested cranes, a colony of chicks following strictly in the footsteps of their mother hen, a few cockerels with bright combs…and everywhere, species of trees and shrubs each as scented, colourful and strange as each other. This house breathes life.

From the Brière to Giverny

An art and nature lover, Eric Guérin is a special chef in the French culinary landscape. Not only has he managed to create a very personal cuisine but also a unique universe. "I have put everything that is me into the Mare, the things I love. This house, it's me, quite simply," with an explosion of lovely objects and rare furniture. Each thing seems as if it's in its natural place. It must be said that the aesthete chef had the right upbringing with art collector parents, his mother owning a gallery at Limetz-Villez, a stone's throw from Giverny where Eric, moreover, recently opened Le Jardin des Plumes.

The Brière chef spent his childhood in the Norman Vexin, "We used to come to Brière with my father when I was young. I fell in love with it." And it is naturally in this green corner that he opened his first restaurant, L'Auberge du Parc, which became La Mare aux Oiseaux in 1995. Before that, the young Eric Guérin went to be trained with the best in Paris. Taillevent, La Tour d’Argent...but do we still need to mention the training of a chef who for a long time now has developed his own identity in cooking? In him, the trigger does not seem to have come from contact with trainers, but from an environment, or from other chefs of his own generation. "The Brière inspires me but I also need to meet with other cooks. We don't feel alone, we are part of a momentum, a movement in French cooking."

Herbs and figs from the garden

His dishes abound with these encounters, are enriched by these influences. Never narrow, never inward looking, they are colourful, full of flavour, playing with textures like this egg in crab jelly, radishes and peas. Or this langoustine, black Aomori garlic, confit gizzards and almond milk peas. Recently, the La Mare aux Oiseaux menu has focused on a key "totem menu where people taste 5, 7 or 9 dishes. It's a real Eric Guérin journey, totally controlled, which changes according to the seasons obviously," says the chef. This menu includes some so-called signature dishes like octopus pigeon or pressed foie gras, cooked one summer with feta and Kalamata olives.

For even if influences jostle with each other, the Brière remains present. "I also have a Produce menu where we offer Brière milk-fed veal, beef produced in Brière, honey from here...the fish arrives straight from le Croisic or la Turballe. And as for herbs, "no worries with the garden." Look, let's take the eel! It is served accompanied by a smoked purée and a garden herbs jus made from lovage, parsley, fennel, chervil, wild mint, coriander and tarragon. The enormous fig tree leaning against the house is also put to good use. Eric picks not only the magnificent figs dripping with sugar but also the leaves. "I dry them in the oven and then burn them with a blowtorch. The swallow is then rolled in the ashes. And I keep the raw leaves to make a vinegar emulsion." Ideas, taste...genius!
 
In this house we feel a real pleasure in serving and in giving pleasure. The whole team is welcoming, smiling and generous like the chef. During a recent meal, "the first 4 hands of La Mare aux Oiseaux, with the Top Chef finalist, Florent Layden," Eric Guérin could have filled his restaurant 4 times over during this very popular evening. But he preferred to reserve a whole table for his producers who were invited for the occasion. Sitting peacefully at a table in the garden, Alain the bee-keeper, Lionel the salt worker, Remy the pigeon-keeper and Damien the red fruit producer…enjoyed their meal.

Discover our charming hotel La Mare aux Oiseaux

What if you were...Eric Guérin

What if you were a dish?
A Greek octopus salad in Italy, where, for a stopover in Corsica, it's the top holiday destination...
What if you were a supplier?  
Because of the shared passion for birds that unites us, I'd say Rémy and Mathieu Anezo and their fabulous Mesquer pigeons
What if you were a gourmet memory of your childhood?
Mum's plum tart in Alsace made with fruit from my grandparents' garden 
What if you were a cuisine of the future?
Definitely that of today as for me cooking is a means of expression, you have to experience it in its time and watch it evolve
What if you were a cooking tip?
That of smoking food with Brière peat, it very quickly enabled me to tell stories drawing deeply from the roots of my adopted region
What if you were a product?
I will definitely be a citrus fruit in the fingers of Bénédicte and Michel Baches, for the knowledge and love they give them... Or a grain of salt between sky and sea, but from Guérande
What if you were a region, a country or a city?
It would be hard for me to choose any other region than the one I chose 18 years ago. A country? France, just like the world, is full of places that can be made magical if we just know how to look at them. A country, certainly the world, and a city, New York for its energy and its tranquillity
What if you were another chef?
Why? I like my career and what I've become, a lovely mix of cooks who have passed things on to me across a generation, and I have added real personality to it
What if you were a character (real or fictitious)? 
Leonardo da Vinci, he looked at things in a different way 
What if you were an art? 
Sculpture for creation, touch... Photography for looking. Bonsai for patience and respect
What if you were a customer, what would you expect from your restaurant?
What I look for elsewhere: to go into a universe that transports me, charms me, makes me travel, dream, share, and leaves images with me for life. A place that feeds the soul
This website uses cookies, allowing us to present advertising in line with your interests and ensuring audience counts, sharing and redirection to social media. (Know more)
OK

You'll love being loyal !

Throughout Europe,
the Accent Card rewards your loyalty in all 550 hotels under our 4 brands.

We are searching for available rates
Please wait a few seconds.

Assis sur sa plate, l'immense bambou à l’horizontal, à l'image d'un funambule sur la Brière, Eric Guérin prend la mesure de son échappée matinale. Profitant de cette quiétude naturelle, le chef de la Mare aux Oiseaux parle peu. Il observe le niveau de l'eau, guette l'attitude des canards… Puis la voix posée "tiens un ragondin juste là." A peine le temps de tourner la tête que le rongeur se faufile déjà dans les herbes hautes."La Brière me ressource pleinement. J'aime voyager en Afrique, en Asie, en Europe... mais j'éprouve également un besoin viscéral de me retrouver en Brière… Allez, on continue." Quelques coups de bambou plus loin, Eric Guérin débarque sur un coin de terre meuble, dérangeant au passage une famille canard qui y avait trouvé refuge. "Je viens chercher de la menthe pouliot ici." Par terre, quelques crânes bien blanchis de ragondins. Au loin, des cygnes s'ébattent.

Pour rentrer au "port" de la Mare aux Oiseaux, son restaurant posé au coeur du Parc naturel Régional de la Brière non loin de Saint-Nazaire, le chef emprunte les canaux naturels de la Brière. Il passe ainsi au bas d’une de ses parcelles sur laquelle il a déposé quelques suites sous chaume et un spa. La Mare aux Oiseaux est encore à une dizaine de coups de bambous. L'arrivée se fait donc par le fond de son jardin luxuriant, où dorment encore les hôtes dans leurs chambres sur pilotis. Ces trois chambres représentent l’esprit même des Relais du Silence. Avant de rejoindre le restaurant, chapeauté de quelques autres chambres, le chef remonte son jardin saluant au passage leurs habitants. Les deux grues huppées, une colonie de poussins suivant scrupuleusement les pas de leur mère poule, quelques coqs à la crête rutilante… Et partout, des essences d'arbres et d'arbustes aussi parfumées, colorées et étranges les unes que les autres. Cette maison respire la vie.

De la Brière à Giverny

Passionné d’art et de nature, Eric Guérin est un chef à part dans le paysage culinaire hexagonal. Il a non seulement réussi à créer une cuisine très personnelle mais également un univers unique. «J’ai mis dans la Mare tout ce qui me correspond, mes coups de coeurs. Cette maison c’est moi, tout simplement,» avec une explosion de beaux objets, un mobilier rare. Chaque chose semble naturellement à sa place. Il faut dire que le chef esthète a été à bonne école avec des parents collectionneurs d’art, une maman galiériste à Limetz-Villez situé à deux pas de Giverny où Eric a d’ailleurs récemment ouvert Le Jardin des Plumes.

Le chef briéron a passé son enfance dans ce Vexin normand, «nous venions en Brière avec mon père lorsque j’étais jeune. J’en suis tombé amoureux.» Et c’est naturellement dans ce coin de verdure qu’il ouvre en son premier restaurant, L’Auberge du Parc, devenue La Mare aux Oiseaux en 1995. Auparavant, le jeune Eric Guérin aura été se former auprès des meilleurs à Paris. Taillevent, La Tour d’Argent... Mais a-t-on encore besoin d’évoquer la formation d’un chef qui a depuis bien longtemps assis sa propre identité en cuisine ? Chez lui, le déclic ne semble pas s’être fait au contact de formateurs, mais d’un environnement, ou d’autres chefs de sa génération. «La Brière m’inspire mais j’ai également besoin d’aller à la rencontre des cuisiniers. On ne se sent pas seul, on fait parti d’un élan, d’un mouvement dans la cuisine française.»

Les herbes et figues du jardin

L'assiette foisonne de toutes ces rencontres, s'enrichit de ces influences. Jamais étriquée, jamais renfermée, la voici colorée, riche de saveurs, se jouant des textures à l’image de cet oeuf en gelée de crabe, radis et petits pois. Ou encore de cette langoustine, ail noir de Aomori, gésier confit et petits pois lait d’amande. Depuis peu, la carte de la Mare aux Oiseaux s'est recentrée sur un menu phare "totem dans lequel les gens picorent, 5, 7 ou 9 plats. C'est un vrai voyage Eric Guérin totalement maîtrisé qui change en fonction des saisons évidemment," raconte le chef. Ce menu comporte quelques plats dits signatures comme le pigeon poulpe ou encore le pressé de fois gras cuisiné un été avec de la Fêta, olives de Kalamata.

Car même si les influences se bousculent, la Brière reste présente. "J'ai aussi un menu Produit où l'on propose du veau de Brière élevé sous la mère, du bœuf élevé en Brière, le miel d'ici… Les poissons arrivent tout droit du Croisic ou de la Turballe. Et pour ce qui est des herbes, "pas de soucis avec le jardin." Tiens, prenons l'anguille ! Elle est servie agrémentée d'une purée fumée et d'un jus d'herbes du jardin composé de livèche, persil, fenouil, cerfeuil, menthe sauvage, coriandre, estragon. L'immense figuier s'adossant à la maison est également mis à contribution. Eric y cueille non  seulement de magnifique figues gorgées de sucre, mais également les feuilles. "Je les sèche au four puis les brûle au chalumeau. L'hirondelle est ensuite roulée dans la cendre. Et je garde des feuilles crues pour réaliser une émulsion de vinaigre." Des idées, du goût… du génie !
 
On sent dans cette maison un réel plaisir de servir, de faire plaisir. Toute l'équipe est à l'avenant, souriante et généreuse comme le chef. Lors d'un récent repas, "le premier 4 mains de La Mare aux Oiseaux, avec le finaliste de Top Chef, Florent Layden," Eric Guérin aurait pu remplir 4 fois son restaurant lors de cette soirée très courue. Il a préféré réserver une table entière à ses producteurs invités pour l'occasion. Attablé tranquillement dans le jardin, Alain l'apiculteur, Lionel le paludier, Remy l'éleveur de pigeons, Damien le producteur de fruits rouges… ont apprécié.

Et si vous étiez…Eric Guérin

Et si vous étiez un plat ?
Une salade de poulpe de Grèce en Italie, où, pour une escale en Corse, c'est le top départ des vacances …
Et si vous étiez un fournisseur ? 
Pour la même passion des oiseaux qui nous uni je dirais Rémy et Mathieu Anezo et leurs fabuleux pigeons de Mesquer
Et si vous étiez un souvenir gourmand de votre enfance ?
La tarte aux quetsches de maman en Alsace avec les fruits du jardin de mes grands parents 
Et si vous étiez une cuisine de demain ?
Résolument celle d'aujourd'hui la cuisine est pour moi un moyen d'expression il faut la vivre dans son époque et la regarder évoluer
Et si vous étiez une astuce en cuisine ?
Celle de faire fumer les aliments avec la Tourbe de Brière, elle m'a permis très vite de raconter des histoires en puisant profondément dans les racines de ma région d'adoption
Et si vous étiez un produit ?
Je serai certainement un agrume entre les doigts de Bénédicte et Michel Baches, pour la connaissance et l'amour qu'ils leur apportent... Ou un grain de sel entre ciel et mer, mais de Guérande
Et si vous étiez une région, un pays, une ville ?
Il me serait difficile de choisir une autre région que celle choisie il y a 18 ans. Un pays ? La France tout comme le monde regorge d'endroits qu'on peut rendre magique simplement si on sait les regarder. Un Pays certainement le Monde, et une ville New York pour son énergie et sa tranquillité
Et si vous étiez un autre chef ?
Pourquoi faire, j'aime mon parcours et ce que je suis devenu, un joli mélange des cuisiniers qui m'ont transmis au travers une génération, j'y ai ajouté une vraie personnalité
Et si vous étiez un personnage (réel ou fictif) ? 
Leonard de Vinci, il regardait les choses d'une autre façon 
Et si vous étiez un art ? 
La sculpture pour la création, le toucher... La Photo pour le regard. Les bonsaïs pour la patience et le respect
Et si vous étiez un client, qu’attendriez-vous de votre restaurant ?
Ce que je recherche ailleurs : rentrer dans un univers qui me transporte, me séduit, me fait voyager, rêver, partager, et me laisse des images pour la vie. Un lieu qui nourrit l'âme
Ce site web utilise des cookies permettant de vous offrir des publicités adaptées à vos centres d'intérêt, assurant des mesures d'audience, ainsi que le partage ou la redirection vers les réseaux sociaux. (En savoir plus)
OK

Vous allez adorer être fidèle !

Partout en Europe,
la Carte Accent récompense votre fidélité dans les 550 hôtels de nos 4 marques.

Nous recherchons les prix disponibles.
Merci de patienter quelques secondes.